Minun täytyy lähteä nyt.

täytyy

listen_20 Minun täytyy lähteä nyt.

MEANING:

Phrase: I have to leave now.

Täytyy is the 3rd person singular of the verb täytyä, which means ”must” or ”have to.”  Note that with the conjugation of täytyä only the 3rd person singular forms are used.

Täytyä expresses the absolute necessity to do something.*

The subject is in the genitive (i.e. minun), and it takes an additional infinitive, in our example, lähteä, which means ”to leave.”

EXTRA CREDIT:

Another, even stronger way of saying this same phrase, ”I have to leave now,” might  be Minun on pakko lähteä, where pakko means ”force,” ”obligation” or ”necessity.”

Since either ”minun täytyy lähtea” or ”minun on pakko lähteä” may sound too abrupt, you might add ikävä kyllä or valitettavasti (both of which mean ”unfortunately”) to soften the phrase.

*Also, see these notes on ”necessity sentences” in Finnish.

2 thoughts on “Minun täytyy lähteä nyt.

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s