polvistua

Royal Wedding - The Wedding Ceremony Takes Place Inside Westminster Abbey

listen_20 polvistua

MEANING:

Verb: to kneel, to stoop down and rest on the knee or knees.

DERIVED FROM:

Polvistua comes from polvi which means ”knee.”

EXTRA CREDIT:

A related verb, polvistaa, means ”to force someone to his knees.”

One thought on “polvistua

  1. Hi – possibly no one else needs it, but I would find it helpful for verbs if you could include present and past tense conjugations of them. To learn a word, it helps me if I can use them in a sentence, but as my Finnish is only so-so, I’m sometimes unsure what the correct conjugation should be. i.e. I kneel – polvistun; I kneeled – polvistuisin? If you could include that info, it would be helpful. Not that the site isn’t great as it is! I may actually learn Finnish vocabulary while far from Finland!
    Kiitos…

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s