kiiltokuva

kiiltokuva

listen_20 kiiltokuva

MEANING:

Compound noun: a collectible, glossy, often embossed image such as the one pictured.

DERIVED FROM:

Kiiltokuva comes from kiilto (”glint,” ”gleam” or ”shine”) plus kuva (”picture”).

EXTRA CREDIT:

If you can think of a direct English translation, let me know. Kiiltakuva refers to a glossy colored picture that is often embossed in such a way that emphasizes the forms of motif. General subjects of the pictures are angels, flowers, children and animals. Sometimes the images are from well-known works of art, including Raphael’s angel.

They began to be pressed in the 1800s where they were first used for sectioning in diaries as for Christmas decorations on cards. They were quite popular in Scandinavia.

3 kommenttia artikkeliin ”kiiltokuva

  1. Hey, I think the word you’re looking for is ”die cut picture”. I was just on a google research adventure myself because I had to know and then I found your blog about this :’D

    • sorry let me correct myself, the right translation is die cut scrap.At least by using that on google you find lot of those pictures 🙂

Jätä kommentti